Skip to content Skip to footer

Visa Services

E-Visa application

The Government of the Republic of Kenya has fully automated the issuance of visa with effect from January 1, 2021. In this regard, all passengers travelling to Kenya from countries that require visas to enter Kenya (including the Netherlands citizens) shall be required to apply and obtain e-visa before boarding an aircraft as no visas will be issued on arrival.

All visas (Single Journey, Multiple Journey, Referred, East African, Transit and Courtesy visas) will exclusively be processed, paid for and issued online on the official government website

The requirements for the different types of visas are stated below;

Multiple Journeys Visa (Valid from three to twelve months)

Multiple Entry Visas are processed and approved from office of the Director of Immigration Services, in Nairobi Kenya. The requirements for applications are;

  1. Duly filled application form
  2. Copy of passport with validity of not less than one year
  3. Copies of passport pages showing visas and entry stamps of previous visits to Kenya
  4. A passport size photograph
  5. Letter of introduction and request for visa from host organisation in Kenya
  6. Copy of host’s passport (If Kenyan)
  7. Copy of host’s passport and work permit (If not a Kenyan)
  8. Certificate of incorporation or Registration from sending organisation in Kenya
  9. Letter of introduction and request for visa from sponsoring organisation /Company in the Netherlands
  10. Fees: 101 US Dollars

Referred Visas (please refer to list of countries in this category)

Holders of any Travel Documents/ Certificates of Identity and nationals of the countries listed below shall have their applications referred to the Director of Immigration Services, Nairobi Kenya, for approval. The applicants must follow the instructions online to apply for a visa. Requirements may include;

  1. Duly filled application form
  2. Copy of the passport with validity of not less than 6 months
  3. A passport-size photograph
  4. Copy of Dutch residence permit (front and back)
  5. Letter from the sponsoring organization/individual host inviting and requesting for visa on behalf of applicant
  6. Copy of passport/ID of the host in Kenya
  7. Letter by applicant requesting for a single-entry visa to Kenya
  8. Original Passport with validity of not less than 6 months
  9. A Single-Entry Visa fee of 51.00 US Dollars

Note: Please do not procure tickets before authority to travel is issued

The following Nationalities must obtain a referred visa before departure to Kenya

Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Eritrea, Iraq, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Palestine, Senegal, Somalia, Syria, and Tajikistan

Stateless Persons who do not hold valid passports or travel documents issued by their own country of nationality are also required to apply for referred visas. This includes recognized refugees- persons who hold the United Nations Refugee Travel Document.

Authority for issue of visas to Nationals of the following Countries is only granted by the Office of The Director of Immigration Services – Nairobi. Subsequently, Nationals of these countries are advised to refer their Visa inquiries to this office prior to finalizing plans for travel to Kenya

The period for processing of these visas is 6-8 weeks.

NOTE: the above list is subject to changes.

East African Tourist Visa

You can apply for an East African Tourist Visa online. For this visa, additional information may be required. These can include;

  1. Duly filled application form
  2. One passport-size photograph
  3. Original and copy of passport
  4. Fee: 101 US Dollars

Visa Free Countries

Nationals of the following countries DO NOT require visas to enter Kenya:

Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cyprus, Dominica, Ethiopia, Fiji Island, Ghana, Grenada, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malaysia(for less than 30 days stay), Maldives, Mauritius, Namibia, Nauru, Papa New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa(for less than 30 days stay), St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Seychelles, Tanzania, The Bahamas, The Gambia, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 

NOTE: the above list is subject to changes.

Persons Exempted from Obtaining Visas to Kenya

The following group of people is exempted from obtaining visas to enter Kenya:

  1. Holders of valid re-entry pass for Kenya.
  2. Citizens of those countries with whom Kenya has a reciprocal Visa Abolition Agreement ( Ethiopia, Rwanda, San Marino)
  3. All passengers arriving and leaving by the same ship, and who do not disembark from the ship
  4. All passengers in transit though Kenya, who are arriving and leaving by the same aircraft or transferring to another aircraft and do not leave the International Transit Lounges of the airports
  5. Holders of United Nations Laissez-Passer whilst on official UN business
  6. Holders of Organization of African Union Laissez-Passer while on official OAU business
  7. Holders of African Development Bank Laissez-Passer whilst on official ADB business

All other Nationalities
All other nationalities require visas to enter Kenya. The visas can be obtained online on

General Information Regarding Visas and Entry Into Kenya

A visa is valid for entry within 90 days from the date of issue. The possession of a visa is not the final authority to enter the Republic of Kenya. The duration of the stay in Kenya is determined by a Visitors pass issued by the immigration officer on arrival and it can be issued valid for 90 days with possible extensions to 180 days

A Kenyan visa allows re-entry into Kenya within its validity from Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi.

Entry on a visa does not allow a visitor to engage in any work including charity/voluntary work, research and internship. Engaging in any form of business or employment without a requisite permit or pass is an offence. To engage in other activities not specified in the visa, please obtain necessary permits and passes from Immigration Department in Nairobi, Mombasa, Nakuru, Eldoret and Kisumu.


  1. Visa processing fee is non-refundable.
  2. Incomplete applications will be rejected.
  3. The possession of an eVisa is not the final Authority to enter The Republic of Kenya.
  4. Engaging in any form of business or employment without a requisite permit or pass is an offence.
  5. A visa is required prior to entry into The Republic of Kenya.
  6. The eVisa printout must be presented at the port of entry.


Persons from Europe, North America, Canada and, Japan do not require yellow fever and cholera vaccination certificates to enter Kenya. Travelers from areas that are yellow fever and cholera prevalent, are required to have vaccination certificates. Malaria prevention is strongly recommended, and travelers are advised to bring along malaria prophylaxis, sun protection cream and mosquito and insect repellents.